8th Asian Yoga Sports Championship to begin in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala

The 8th Asian Yoga Sports Championship organised by Asian Yoga Federation will begin in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala 27 September 2018. Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan will formally inaugurate the event. Nearly 450 participants representing 12 Asian countries showcasing their yoga skills will take part in four-day event. AIR correspondent reports that the pan-Asian yoga event is being held in the country for the second time.

Participants from various countries including China, Singapore, Malaysia, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, Sri Lanka, Iran, Nepal, Vietnam, Afghanisthan and Bangladesh have already reached Thiruvananthapuram. The Indian team include 111 yoga exponents, including five Keralites. Competitions would be held under various age groups in six categories including Asian yogasana sports competition, artistic yoga, artistic pair yoga, rhythmic yoga, free flow dance competition, and professional yogasana sports competition.

Yogaratna Awards will be given away to foreign delegates who were instrumental in popularising yoga in their respective countries. Noted Saudi yoga instructor Nouf Marwaai, who was recently awarded the Padma Shri, is expected to participate in the event.

Translate »