Australia beat England by 8 wickets to win fourth Women’s World Twenty20 crown

Australia has won their fourth Women’s World Twenty20 championship after cruising to an eight-wicket victory over England in the final on 24 November 2018. Spinners Ashleigh Gardner and Georgia Wareham took five wickets between them to limit England to a lowly 105 off 19.4 overs before Gardener led Australia’s chase as it reached its target of 106 with 29 balls to spare.

It was Australia’s fourth World Twenty20 title after winning three successive tournaments in 2010, 2012 and 2014. Despite an enterprising 43 off 37 balls by England’s opener Danielle Wyatt, it was a difficult day for the 2009 champions as it lost wickets at regular intervals, despite Australia’s sloppy fielding.

Allrounder Ellyse Perry, who had a mixed day in the field, took her 100th Twenty20 international wicket when she had Nat Sciver trapped in front of the stumps for one. Perry is only the second player and first Australian to reach the milestone. Teenage legspinner Wareham (2-11) snared two wickets and also completed a run out to remove England’s Amy Jones for four.

Translate »