Barcelona clinch La Liga title as Messi treble downs Deportivo

Barcelona is celebrating yet another Spanish league title to cap a nearly perfect season. Unbeaten Barcelona added to its domestic dominance by winning La Liga for the third time in the last four seasons on 29 April 2018, remaining unbeaten after 34 rounds. Lionel Messi scored a hat-trick and Philippe Coutinho added a goal to give Barcelona a 4-2 win at Deportivo La Coruna and an insurmountable 11-point lead over Atletico Madrid.

Barcelona has won 26 league games and drawn eight, with four matches left. It was Barcelona’s seventh league title in 10 seasons and 25th overall. Real Madrid, last year’s champion, leads with 33 La Liga trophies. Barcelona has also thrived in the Copa del Rey, the country’s second-most important club competition, winning it for the last four seasons.

Barcelona’s next goal is to try to finish the league unbeaten, something which has never happened in the competition’s current format. It’s been an almost perfect season for us in the league. Barcelona’s biggest setback this season came in the Champions League, when it was eliminated by Roma in the quarter-finals after squandering a three-goal advantage from the first leg.

Translate »