Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia and SA assume charge as Non-Permanent Members of UN Security Council

Five nations, namely, Belgium, Dominican Republic, Germany, Indonesia, and South Africa assumed the charge as the Non-Permanent Members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).

These five countries will hold a two-year term in the Council with effect from January 1, 2019. This will be the Dominican Republic’s first time on the Security Council. The other four countries have previously served on the body.

They will fill the seats vacated by Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands and Sweden on December 31, 2018, after serving a two-year term on the 15-member Security Council. The Netherlands occupied the seat during the course of 2017 in an unusual arrangement, sharing the seat with Italy.

Key Highlights:-

1. Under the UN Charter, the UNSC has primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security.
2. The council is the only UN body that makes decisions and has the power to impose sanctions and authorize the use of force.
3. The 15-member Security Council has five Permanent Members – China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States, and 10 non-permanent members.
4. Each member of the Security Council has one vote.

Translate »