Chhattisgarh Election Results 2018: Congress claims majority by winning 68 seats; puts an end to Raman Singh era

The Indian National Congress claimed a majority in Chhattisgarh by winning 68 seats in the 90-member Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) trailed behind with 15 seats, followed by Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (J) with 5 seats and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with 2 seats. Counting of votes for the 90-member Assembly began on December 11, 2018.

The Congress will hold its legislature party meeting on December 12, 2018, to decide on the Chief Minister candidate for Chhattisgarh. Congress’ Lok Sabha member Tamradhwaj Sahu, State Party Chief Bhupesh Baghel and Senior Leader TS Singhdeo are front-runners for the top post.

This year, Chhattisgarh fought a battle between three political parties – Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), Congress and the Ajit Jogi-Mayawati-led alliance. The Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), former chief minister Ajit Jogi’s Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) and Communist Party of India (CPI) formed the coalition and added another dimension to the electoral politics.

Translate »