First Indian team for FIFA U-17 World Cup announced

India’s U-17 World Cup 21-man squad for the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 was announced on 21 September 2017. India are in Group A alongside USA, Colombia and Ghana and are definite underdogs going into what will be their first-ever participation in a FIFA tournament.

We believe that we are prepared for the FIFA U-17 World Cup. We have worked hard and made progress, but at the same time we go directly to a high level competition against some of the best teams in the world. We will fight to win each match even if there is only five percent chance of winning. We will not give up and nothing is impossible in football.

In order to prepare for the FIFA U-17 World Cup 2017 in India, the All India Football Federation (AIFF) organised tours for the India U-17s wherein the side faced Macedonia, Serbia and Benfica amongst others. They also took part in a four-nation tournament in Mexico where they lost against Mexico and Colombia, but held Chile to a 1-1 draw despite being reduced to ten-man.

The 21 man squad is as follows:

Dheeraj Singh, Prabhsukhan Gill, Sunny Dhaliwal
Boris Singh, Jitendra Singh, Anwar Ali, Sanjeev Stalin, Hendry Antonay, Namit Deshpande
Suresh Singh, Ninthoinganba Meetei, Amarjit Singh Kiyam, Abhijit Sarkar, Komal Thatal, Lalengmawia, Jeakson Singh, Nongdamba Naorem, Rahul Kannoly Praveen, Md. Shahjahan
Rahim Ali, Aniket Jadhav

India will take on USA in their first group game on October 6th at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in New Delhi.

Translate »