Fourth Governing Council Meeting of NITI Aayog held in New Delhi

The fourth meeting of Governing Council of National Institute of Transforming India (NITI) Aayog was held under the chairmanship Prime Minister Narendra Modi at Rashtrapati Bhavan, New Delhi. It was attended by 23 Chief Ministers and Lieutenant Governor of Andaman & Nicobar Islands, apart from Union Ministers, who are ex-officio members and special invitees.

The Governing Council is apex body of NITI Aayog tasked with evolving shared vision of national development priorities, sectors and strategies with the active involvement of States in shaping development narrative of the country.

It is chaired by Prime Minister and comprises of Chief Ministers of all States and Union Territories with Legislatures and Lt. Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands and four Union Ministers as ex-officio members and three Union Ministers as Special Invitees. Governing Council embodies NITI Aayog’s objectives of cooperative federalism, presents platform to discuss inter-sectoral, inter-departmental and federal issues in order to accelerate implementation of national development agenda.

The first Meeting was held in February 2015 at which Prime Minister laid down key mandates of NITI Aayog such as fostering cooperative federalism and addressing national issues through active participation of States. The second Meeting was held July 2015 and third meeting in April 2017, which laid down milestones in shaping country’s development agenda through strategy and vision documents.

Translate »