France wins 2018 FIFA World Cup Football title

France has won 2018 FIFA World Cup Football by defeating Croatia by 4-2 goals in the final match held at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow, Russia. It was France’s second World Cup crown after it had owned it in 1998 (by defeating Brazil) on home soil. With this, victory France joins Uruguay and Argentina in winning World Cup for the second time. It was Croatia’s first World Cup final appearance and smallest country ever to reach final in the modern era.

For France, four goals were scored by Mario Mandžukić (Croatia’s self-goal at 18 min), Antoine Griezmann (38 min), Paul Pogba (59 min) and Kylian Mbappe (65 min). For Croatia, two goals were scored by Ivan Perišić (28 min), Mario Mandzukic (69 min).

It is an international association football competition contested by senior men’s national teams of members of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s global governing body. It is held every four years since the inaugural tournament held in 1930.

The total 21 World Cup tournaments played so far have been won by eight national teams. Brazil has won for recording five times and it is the only team that has played in every World Cup. Germany and Italy have each won four titles, Argentina, France, and Uruguay have won two titles each. England and Spain have won one title each.

Translate »