Government launches new Rs 20 coin

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 07 March 2019 released the new series of “visually impaired friendly circulation” coins (Re 1, Rs 2, Rs 5, Rs 10 and Rs 20). Except for the Rs 20 coin, the rest of the denominations will be round in shape.

The government has announced new Rs 20 coin which will be shaped like a 12-edged polygon (dodecagon). The outside diameter of the new Rs 20 coin will be 27mm (millimeters) and it will weigh 8.54 grams, a notification from the finance ministry stated. The composition of the new coin will be 65 percent copper, 15 percent zinc and 20 percent nickel for the outer ring, while the inner ring (centerpiece) will be 75 percent copper, 20 percent zinc and five percent nickel.

Releasing the new series, the Prime Minister said that the government is guided by the vision of reaching the last mile and the last person. He added that the new series of coins have been designed and released keeping that vision in mind.

Unlike the circular Rs 10 coin, the new Rs 20 coin will not have any marks on its edges. The ministry has not given any other cues on its design or appearance yet in the notification. But, like the Rs 10 coin, it will be two-toned with a similar diameter.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) had issued the first Rs 10 coin nearly 10 years ago in March 2009. Since then, there have been 13 iterations of the coin. This also led to creating confusion among a few traders who assumed that some of the coins in circulation could be “fake”. However, the central bank later issued a clarification last year saying that all 14 kinds of coins continue to be legal tender.

Translate »