Important Points About Pyeongchang Winter Olympics-2018

The Olympic Winter Game is a major international sporting event held once every four years for sports practiced on snow and ice. The first Winter Olympics, the 1924 was held in Chamonix, France. The modern Olympic Games were inspired by the ancient Olympic Games, which were held in Olympia, Greece, from the 8th century BC to the 4th century AD. Baron Pierre de Coubertin founded the International Olympic Committee (IOC) in 1894, leading to the first modern Summer Games in Athens, Greece in 1896. The IOC is the governing body of the winter Olympics.

23rd Winter Olympic was kick started in Pyeongchang, South Korea from 9 to 25 February 2018. Pyeongchang was elected as the host in July 2011, during the 123rd IOC Session in Durban, South Africa. It marks the first time South Korea has hosted the Winter Olympics, and the second Olympics in the country overall after the 1988 Summer Olympics in the nation’s capital, Seoul.

The games featured 102 events in fifteen sports, out of these 15 sports 4 new sports are added in this session they are big air snowboarding, mass start speed skating, mixed doubles curling, and mixed team alpine skiing to the Winter Olympic programme. 2,914 athletes from 92 NOCs competed, including the debuts of Ecuador, Eritrea, Kosovo, Malaysia, Nigeria and Singapore.

Translate »