India Defeats Bangladesh To Win 7th Asia Cup Title

India defeated Bangladesh by three wickets in a nail-biting last ball encounter to bag the Asia Cup title at the Dubai International Stadium. After being asked to bat first by India, Bangladesh could only manage to post 222 at the scoreboard thanks to opener Liton Das’ thunderous 121 runs from just 117 balls.

However, no other player in the Bangladesh side could manage to play long inning – Mehidy Hasan Miraz (32) and Soumya Sarkar (33) – as most of them fall flat in front of the power-packed Indian bowling lineup. Spinner Kuldeep Yadav led the Indian bowling lineup with three wickets for just 45 runs. He was provided strong support by Kedar Jadhav (2/41), Yuzvendra Chahal (1/31) and Jasprit Bumrah (1/39).

India didn’t get off to a flying start this time as Dhawan (15) got out at the score of 35. He was followed by Ambati Rayudu, who only managed to add two runs before falling off to Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza at the score of 46. India’s stand-in skipper Rohit Sharma (48), MS Dhoni (36) and Dinesh Karthik (37) later took India close to the target, however, none of them could manage to stay for a longer time.

Translate »