India defeats South Africa to win ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifiers final 2017

India defeats South Africa by one wicket in a nail-biting Women’s cricket World Cup qualifier final at the P. Sara Oval in Colombo on 21 February 2017. Set to chase 245, India had all but lost its way after a flurry of wickets. However, stand-in captain Harmanpreet Kaur kept her cool to score the nine runs required off the last over from pace bowler Marcia Letsoala. South Africa’s Sune Luus is named as the Player of the Series, while India’s Deepti Sharma is the Player of the Match. Chasing a decent 245, India were on course with opener Mona Meshram (59) and Deepti Sharma (71) striking a 124-run second wicket stand to set the tone before Harmanpreet’s run-a-ball unbeaten 41 runs helped the side recover from a mini-collapse and get over the line.

The qualified teams that will participate in the 2017 World Cup are-:

India (Bottom 4 of ICC Women’s Championship)

South Africa (Bottom 4 of ICC Women’s Championship)

Pakistan (Bottom 4 of ICC Women’s Championship)

Sri Lanka (Bottom 4 of ICC Women’s Championship)

Zimbabwe (Africa regional qualifier)

Thailand (Asia regional qualifier)

Papua New Guinea (East Asia-Pacific regional qualifier)

Scotland (Europe regional qualifier)

Bangladesh (automatic qualification – ODI status)

Ireland (automatic qualification – ODI status)

Translate »