India vs Bangladesh: India won one match test series against Bangladesh 1-0

India won the one-match Test series against Bangladesh 1-0. In the match played at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad, India defeated Bangladesh by 208 runs.Chasing a target of 459, the visitors were bundled out for 250, just before a tea break on the final day of the match.Spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja continued their magic with the ball as they bagged 4 wickets apiece in the second innings. Pacer Ishant Sharma took two. Earlier, Bangladesh had resumed their second innings at the overnight score of 103 for 3.Earlier on 12 February 2017, India had declared their second innings at 159 for 4, after bundling out Bangladesh for 388. In the first innings, the hosts had posted a mammoth 687 for 6 declared after opting to bat. The win is India’s sixth successive series victory.With this victory in Test, Virat Kohli became the first Test batsman to hit double hundreds in four consecutive series. He also scored the most Test runs of 1206 in a home season. The sixth successive test victory helped Kohli to become the first Indian captain to win six successive Test series.In addition to this, Kohli’s tally of 19 Tests without a defeat as a captain also stands as a record for India. The previous record was held by Sunil Gavaskar. He had a record of winning 18 Tests between January 1976 and January 1980.Besides, Ashwin became the fastest bowler ever to take 250 Test wickets.A win against Bangladesh isn’t in itself a moment that deserves huge celebration, but wins in the last 12 months in Test series against the West Indies, Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand and Bangladesh, and a possible win against Australia, means India have become a serius force in Test cricket.

Translate »