India win 10 medals in Para-Badminton World Championships

The Indian contingent finished with a rich haul of 10 medals two gold, two silver and six bronze at the BWF Para-Badminton World Championships 2017 that concluded in Ulsan, Korea on 26 November 2017. Arjuna awardee Parul Dalsukhbhai Parmar was the star of the show and claimed both the gold medals from the side.

The Gandhinagar-born shuttler topped her group with three straight-game wins and then got the better of her compatriot, Manasi Girishchandra Joshi, 21-12, 21-7 in the semi-finals. Parmar had to overcome a late resistance from the second seeded Wannaphatdee Kamtam of Thailand to register a 21-8, 21-17 win in just 23 minutes. She later teamed up with Akiko Sugino of Japan to grab her second gold medal of the day, this time in the WD SL 3- SU 5 category.

She bagged the gold medal at the 2014 Para Asian Games and aspires to bring home the gold medal from Tokyo after para-badminton got the green signal to be included in the 2020 Paralympic Games. In the MS SL 3 section, the second seeded Manoj Sarkar went down fighting 21-15, 19-21, 16-21 to the unseeded Ukun Rukaendi of Indonesia in 1 hour 11 minutes to settle for the silver. In MS SL 4, the top seeded Lucas Mazur beat the 3/4th seeded Tarun Tarun, 21-18, 21-10 in the final.

Translate »