Jagan Mohan Reddy takes Oath as Andhra CM

YSR Congress chief Yeduguri Sandinti Jagan Mohan Reddy was taken oath on 30 May 2019 as the second Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh post its bifurcation.

Governor E S L Narasimhan administered the oath of office and secrecy in a grand public function at the IGMC Stadium in nearby Vijayawada, to the 46-year-old leader who led his party to a resounding victory in the recent Assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

Reddy alone took oath on 30 May 2019 while his Council of Ministers is likely to be constituted on June 7. For the first time, special arrangements have been made at the Andhra Pradesh Bhavan in New Delhi for live streaming of the swearing-in ceremony.

After taking the oath, Reddy addressed the invited dignitaries through the video link and present his vision and mission for building a new Andhra Pradesh. He is also likely to make some key announcements for the people of the state, mainly related to the YSRCs Navaratnalu, the nine major electoral promises

The YSR Congress bagged 151 of the 175 seats in the state Assembly, decimating the TDP headed by N Chandrababu Naidu, who became the first chief minister of the state after it was bifurcated to carve out Telangana five years ago. YSRC won 22 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats.

Reddy has also invited Jana Sena president Pawan Kalyan, Telugu film star K Chiranjeevi and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar for the swearing-in. CPI and CPI-M national general secretaries Suravaram Sudhakar Reddy and Sitaram Yechuri respectively, state BJP president Kanna Lakshminarayana and a host of other leaders are among the invitees.

Translate »