Jagan wins sixth title in a row at National Motorcycle Racing

TVS Racing’s mascot Jagan Kumar notched his sixth straight title in the premier Super Sport Indian (165cc) class on a rain-affected day to bring down the curtain on the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship, on 01 October 2017. Massive downpour in the early hours disrupted the proceedings here but a herculean effort by officials got the club circuit (short loop, 2.1 Kms) ready for racing with the full circuit (3.7 Kms) not available due to water-logging.

Jagan enjoyed a six-point lead over Honda Ten10 Racing’s Rajiv Sethu, but the expected challenge did not materialize as the latter crashed at Turn-2 in the very first lap. Jagan was on a cruise mode and seemed content to finish second behind Sethu’s team-mate Mathana Kumar who eased past in the last lap. Harry Sylvester (TVS Racing) came in third.

It was a splendid comeback by Jagan who, at one point in the season, trailed Sethu by 33 points but three back-to-back wins, including one yesterday, put the TVS Racing rider’s campaign back on track as he clinched the title in this class, previously known as “Group B”, for the sixth year in a row by a comfortable 24-point margin. The National champions: Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing , Super Sport Indian 165cc), Aravind Balakrishnan (Honda Ten10 Racing, Pro-Stock), Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing, Super Sport Indian 300-400cc), Sai Rahil Pillarishetty (Sparks Racing, Novice 165cc), Aishwarya Pissay (Apex Racing, Girls 165cc).

Translate »