Jean-Julien Rojer & Horia Tecau win Dubai Tennis Championships Men’s Doubles

Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau are the 2017 Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships doubles champions. Second-seeded Rojer and Tecau had to create a comeback against Rohan Bopanna and Marcin Matkowski in the final to win it all 4-6 6-3 10-3. Rojer and Tecau fired six aces – won 33 out of 38 points on their first serve – converted just one out of seven of their break point chances, while saving three out of four of their opponents. It took an hour and 19 minutes for the clash held on Saturday to be concluded. The 2017 Dubai doubles champions lost just one set this week in Dubai – it came in the final against Bopanna and Matkowski.

After a couple of unsuccessfull attempts in 2017, Rojer and Tecau have finally won their first ATP doubles title of the season. Bopanna and Matkowski, who had their debut appearance as a team in Dubai, will stay on one doubles title this year. Bopanna made it all the way with Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan in Chennai, Matkowski had a winning run alongside Aisam Ul Haq Qureshi in Auckland. Murray and Soares now have captured their first doubles title of the 2017 season. They were close to achieving it earlier in the year, losing in the Sydney final and in the last-four stage of Doha and Rio de Janeiro. Lopez and Isner, who had their debut appearance as a team this year, fell just short of winning their first doubles title together. Prior to the Acapulco event, the two paired once in the past – back in 2013 in Valencia.

Translate »