KP Sharma Oli appointed as Nepal PM Second Time

CPN-UML leader KP Sharma Oli was on 15 February 2018 sworn in Nepal’s new Prime Minister though his allies in the CPN-Maoist Centre. Oli, 65, assumed the post for the second time. He had earlier served as the premier from October 2015 to August 2016, when he had to step down after the CPN-Maoist Center withdrew its support to the then government. Outgoing Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba, submitted his resignation after the Election Commission submitted the final results of the elections held in December to the President. Deuba’s Nepali Congress finished third in the race.

The Left alliance of the CPN-UML, led by Oli and CPN-Maoist Centre, led by Prachanda, secured almost two third majority in the Parliament during the parliamentary elections. Oli’s party CPN-UML secured 121 seats in the 275-member Parliament and became the largest party in the Parliament. The Nepali Congress has 63 seats while the CPN-Maoist Centre has 53 seats. The total strength of the CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre was 174, sufficient to form a majority government at the Centre.

Translate »