Melbourne to host final of 2020 World T20

The women’s tournament, made up of 10 teams, will be held from Feb. 21 to March 8 before 16 men’s teams play from Oct. 18 to Nov. 15. It will mark the first time the tournaments are held as standalone events in the same year in the same country. The ICC and Cricket Australia unveiled the venues for both tournaments on 30 January 2018, with women’s pool matches to be played at several smaller venues in Perth, Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide and Canberra. Both the women’s semi-finals will be at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The women’s final will coincide with International Women’s Day, with the world governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), hoping for a record attendance at a women’s sporting event. The largest crowd to attend a women’s sporting event was 90,185 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena for the 1999 Women’s World Cup soccer final between the United States and China.

Hobart and Gee long will host six pool stage matches in the men’s tournament before the country’s six main cricket venues, including the new Perth Stadium, host matches. The men’s semi-finals will be in Sydney and Adelaide before the final in Melbourne, where Steve Smith’s side will be looking to end a poor run in global tournaments for the shortest form of the game. Australia’s men have made just one previous final, in 2010 in the West Indies, and have been knocked out in the second round of the last two tournaments.

Translate »