Mughalsarai Junction Renamed As Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Junction

The iconic Mughalsarai Railway Junction of Uttar Pradesh was on August 5, 2018, renamed as Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Junction Railway station. Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) National President Amit Shah inaugurated the renamed station. The Mughalsarai station got a new name after Uttar Pradesh Governor Ram Naik gave his assent to the proposal in June 2018 following the in-principle approval by the Union Government in 2017 to the state government’s proposal.

Key Highlights:-
1. The Mughalsarai junction, one of country’s busiest railway stations, was set up in 1862 when the East India Company linked Howrah to Delhi by rail.
2. It is located on the main Howrah-Delhi Grand Chord line.
3. The British built the station to transport goods from northern India to port cities in the east.
4. With time, the station became Asia’s biggest goods train yard and one of the busiest stations of the country with the daily movement of around 250 trains.

On the same occasion, a goods train with an all-woman crew was flagged off. It will be the first time in the country that an all-woman crew will run a goods train. The bi-weekly Ekatmata Express, train connecting Lucknow and Deen Dayal Upadhyay Junction, was also launched. The state government also launched the smart yard project for the Mughalsarai station, the century-old station on the busy Delhi-Howrah route.

Translate »