Nanda Bahadur Pun re-elected Nepal vice president

Nanda Bahadur Pun was 19 March 2018 sworn in as Nepal’s vice president for his second term in office, a day after he was re-elected to the post unopposed. Shasi Kala Dahal of CPN-Maoist Centre was elected vice-chairperson of the national assembly. She was elected to the post defeating Nepali Congress candidate Brinda Devi Ale.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered oath of office and secrecy to her deputy, Vice-President Pun, at an official ceremony here. Left alliance candidate Pun was re-elected unopposed yesterday for a second consecutive term since no other party including opposition Nepali Congress, fielded candidates to contest the election for vice president.

Last week, Ganesh Timalsina of CPN-UML was elected unopposed as chairman of the national assembly, the upper house of Nepal’s parliament. The Left alliance had earlier fielded Bhandari as their presidential candidate which led to her victory and her second term of office. She had defeated NC candidate Kumari Laxmi Rai. The ruling alliance had floated common candidates for president, vice president, speaker, deputy speaker, chairperson of upper house and vice-chair as per power sharing deal between CPN-UML and CPN-Maoist Centre.

Translate »