N’Golo Kante named Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year

N’Golo Kanté has been voted the 2017 Footballer of the Year by the Football Writers’ Association.The FWA revealed that a record 17 different players received votes for the award this season.David Luiz, Diego Costa and Cesar Azpilicueta were the other Chelsea players put forward, while Tottenham striker Harry Kane and Manchester United’s injured Zlatan Ibrahimovic also garnered support.FWA chairman Patrick Barclay added: “N’Golo Kante could not be a more deserving winner of English football’s most prestigious individual award.”In the view of some FWA members, he would have been a worthy recipient last season for his contribution to Leicester’s title success, but the almost unbroken excellent form of Chelsea since he changed clubs has left little room for further debate.Kante is the 18th man to win the PFA and FWA awards in the same season, with former Arsenal striker Thierry Henry and ex-Manchester United winger Cristiano Ronaldo completing the double twice.

Translate »