Nitish Kumar take Oath for 6th Time as a Chief Minister

Nitish Kumar will take oath as the chief minister of Bihar on 27 July 2017, a day after he resigned from the post citing corruption cases against RJD leaders of the Grand Alliance, including Tejashwi Yadav. Immediately after he stepped down, Kumar was offered support by the BJP, a former ally of the JD(U). Kumar will take oath tomorrow at 5 pm. The BJP has submitted its letter of support to Governor Keshari Nath Tripathi. Talking to the media, BJP leader Sushil Modi said his party is comfortable working under Nitish Kumar.

Earlier 27 July 2017, Kumar tendered his resignation to Tripathi following a meeting of JD(U) MLAs, in which the latter reportedly endorsed his decision to quit. Meanwhile, talking to the media, Kumar said he took the decision to step down in the interest of the state. “Ever since the corruption charges were levelled against RJD leaders, we have been asking them to at least explain those charges. We also met Tejashwi and told him that the image that is being created, he should clarify all that. But this did not happen. The situation got so worse that it became difficult for me to work. We had followed the Gathbandhan Dharma and had tried to protect it. But now my conscience does not allow me to continue.

The meeting on 26 July 2017 was chaired by Kumar amid a rift with RJD over the resignation of Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav. Kumar’s resignation came hours after RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav reiterated that his Tejashwi would not step down. “Tejashwi Yadav will not resign, Nitish Kumar didn’t ask for his resignation,” Lalu had said at a press briefing. He had maintained that there is no bitterness between him and Kumar. No bitterness between me and Nitish. Spoke to him 26 July 2017. Media trying to crack our alliance.

Translate »