One gold, five silver medals for India at Makran Cup boxing

National champion Deepak Singh (49kg) was the lone Indian boxer to notch up gold, while five others claimed silver medals in the Makran Cup in Chabahar, Iran. Deepak defeated Jaafar Naseri in the finals held on 27 February 2019 night. However, none of the other five Indian finalists could win their final bouts.

Manish, also a national champion, lost to Danial Shah Baksh, while Satish was beaten by Mohammad Mlias. Sanjeet, a gold-medallist at the India Open last year, went down to Eldin Ghossoun in his final bout. Prasad couldn’t put it past Omid Safa Ahmedi and settled for the second position.

Finishing second on the podium were P. Lalitha Prasad (52kg), Commonwealth Games silver-medallist Manish Kaushik (60kg), Duryodhan Singh Negi (69kg), Sanjeet (91kg) and Commonwealth Games silver-medallist Satish Kumar (+91kg).

Duryodhan lost to Sajjad Zadeh Kezim in the welterweight final. Earlier, Rohit Tokas (64kg) and Manjeet Singh Panghal (75kg) lost in the semifinals to sign off with bronze medals.

Translate »