One Nation One Ration Card’ Scheme will be Available Across the Country From July 1, 2020

Central government’s ambitious project of ‘One Nation One Card’. A beneficiary can buy subsidized food grains from any ration shop. The scheme will begin on 1 July 2020.

The Central government given states and Union Territories till June 30, 2020, to use point of sale (POS) machines in the ration shops and the scheme can be implemented.

Around 77% % of the ration shops across the country have POS machines. Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Telangana, and Tripura are the states which provide the portability of Public Distribution System (PDS) entitlements.

The government is implementing the National Food Security Act(NSA) under which food grains are supplied every month. They are supplied every month at highly subsidized rates of Rs 1-3 per kg to over 80 crore people.

Translate »