Pakistan beats India to win 2017 ICC Champions Trophy

Pakistan on 18 June 2017 defeated India in the final played at The Oval, London to lift the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy. The Pakistani batters stood up and fantastic knocks from Fakhar Zaman, Azhar Ali and Mohammad Hafeez helped them post a solid total. Pakistan won the trophy by 180 runs. The margin of victory was the largest by any team in the final of an ICC ODI tournament.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (C), Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (WK), Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah

Pakistan: Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed (C, WK), Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Junaid Khan

ICC Champions Trophy-

1. The ICC Champions Trophy is a one day international cricket tournament organised by the International Cricket Council.

2. It is second in importance only to the Cricket World Cup.

3. It was inaugurated as the ICC KnockOut Tournament in 1998. Its name was changed to the Champions Trophy in 2002.

4. Australia and India have won the tournament twice each.

Translate »