PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony: Government invites BIMSTEC leaders on May 30

India on 27 May 2019 it has invited leaders of BIMSTEC member countries to attend the swearing-in of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his council of ministers on 30 May 2019.

Modi and his council of ministers will take the oath of office at 7 pm on 30 May 2019. Apart from the leaders of BIMSTEC countries, New Delhi has also invited the president of Kyrgyzstan and prime minister of Mauritius. BIMSTEC, or Bay of Bengal Initiative for Multi-Sectoral Technical and Eco­nomic Cooperation, is a grouping comprising Bangladesh, India, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal, and Bhutan.

Unlike 2014, when India invited leaders of SAARC member countries, including Pakistan, to the swearing-in ceremony of the PM, it has kept that grouping out and sent invites to leaders of BIMSTEC countries for the event. In 2014, then Pakistan prime minister Nawaz Sharif had attended the ceremony.

A major plank of Prime Minister Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls was that it was tough on Pakistan on the issue of terror, having replied in kind with the surgical strike after the Uri attack as well as the Balakot air raid after the Pulwama terror attack in February on 2019.

Translate »