Safe City plans for women in eight metropolitan cities initiated

The Central government on 22 November 2017 began a process of formulating a comprehensive safe city plans for women in eight metropolitan cities: Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Lucknow and Hyderabad. He also stressed on the need for Integrated Command and Control Centres and on collaborative monitoring by police and privately installed CCTV cameras, saying “this integration should be in a time-bound and phased manner.

It was decided that police and municipal corporations of these eight cities will frame a plan of action. The plan will be forwarded by the respective state-level committee headed by the Chief Secretary of the state and the plan of action to be submitted by these cities within a month will be assessed by the Steering Committee, which will make suitable recommendations.

The issues reviewed in the meeting included 33 per cent reservation of women in police, installation of CCTV cameras, deployment of women in police stations, emergency response system, police verified public transport, prevention of cyber crime, infrastructure issues, mapping of dark spots and crime-prone areas and involvement of educational institutions, among others.

Translate »