SC approves Centre’s draft Cauvery management scheme

The Supreme Court of India on May 18, 2018 approved the Centre’s draft Cauvery Management Scheme for smooth distribution of Cauvery river water among the southern states. The ruling was passed by a three-judge bench comprising Chief Justice Dipak Misra and Justices A M Khanwilkar and D Y Chandrachud. The bench rejected the suggestions of Karnataka and Kerala governments over the scheme, terming them as devoid of merits.

The Supreme Court of India on February 16, 2018 reduced Tamil Nadu’s share of Cauvery water by 14.75 tmcft water per year, diverting the same to Karnataka. The judgement was delivered by a bench comprising Chief Justice Dipak Misra and Justices Amitava Roy and A M Khanwilkar. With the decision, while Tamil Nadu’s share was decreased to 177 tmcft, Karnataka’s share was increased to 284.75 tmcft and Kerala’s and Puducherry’s share remained the same.

The court in its verdict had also directed the Centre to frame the Cauvery management scheme, including the creation of the Cauvery Management Board, for the release of the River’s water from Karnataka to Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry. The Cauvery Water Tribunal, in its ruling in 2007, had allocated 192 TMC water to Tamil Nadu, 270 TMC water to Karnataka, 30 tmcft to Kerala and 7 tmcft to Puducherry per year.

Translate »