Suresh Prabhu gets additional charge of Civil Aviation Ministry

Commerce and Industries Minister Suresh Prabhu was on 10 March 2018 given additional charge of the Civil Aviation Ministry, a day after the resignation of Ashok Gajapathi Raju of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) was accepted by President Ram Nath Kovind.

Mr. Raju and another TDP MP Y.S. Chowdary resigned from the Council of Ministers after party supremo and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu decided to pull out his Ministers from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) government.

The President, as advised by the Prime Minister, has directed that Suresh Prabhu, Cabinet Minister, shall be assigned the charge of the Ministry of Civil Aviation, in addition to his existing portfolio. Mr.Naidu took the decision after facing relentless attacks from the Opposition for “failing” to secure special category status for Andhra Pradesh. The TDP, however, continues to be a part of the NDA.

Translate »