Two Koreas sign agreement on denuclearisation of Korean Peninsula

In a historic move, North Korean leader Kim Jong Un and South Korean President Moon Jae-in on September 19, 2018 signed an agreement on denuclearisation, reducing military tensions and defusing crisis on the Korean peninsula.

The talks were hosted by North Korea in its capital city Pyongyang. The North Korean leader welcomed the South Korea President at the Sunan International Airport, at the start of Moon’s three-day visit to the nation.

Key Highlights:-

1. The North Korean leader stated that his regime is also willing to take additional steps in accordance with the June 12 North Korea-US Joint Declaration, such as dismantle the country’s largest nuclear facility in Yongbyon if the US takes corresponding measures.
2. The leaders of the two militaries, South Korean defence Minister Song Young-moo and North Korea’s Minister for the People’s Armed Forces No Kwang-chol also signed a declaration, agreeing to a wide range of steps aimed at further reducing military tension on the Korean Peninsula.
3. The Yongbyon Nuclear Scientific Research Centre is a major complex and its permanent closure would be a significant move towards ensuring that the North gives up its nuclear arsenal.
4. North Korea has agreed to permanently dismantle engine testing facilities and missile launch pads in the presence of international inspectors.
5. Besides this, Kim Jong Un pledged to visit Seoul, which would be the first visit by a North Korean leader to the South since the Korean War.
6. Both the leaders want the US to sign off on formally ending the Korean War, which still technically continues because no peace treaty was signed.

Translate »