Union Government launches Award Scheme under ‘Saubhagya’

Minister of State for Power and Renewable Energy RK Singh on October 15, 2018, launched an award scheme under the umbrella Saubhagya Scheme, also known as Pradhan Mantri Sahaj Bijli Har Ghar Yojana. The Saubhagya award scheme will felicitate the power distribution companies (DISCOMs) and Power Department of the States and their employees for achieving 100 per cent household electrification.

Eight States which have already achieved more than 99 per cent household electrification prior to the launch of Saubhagya scheme are ineligible for participation under the award scheme. These eight states are Andhra Pradesh, Gujarat, Goa, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Punjab and Tamil Nadu. All the remaining States and their Discoms are eligible for the award.

Key Highlights:-

1. There will be two quantum of the award in each of the three categories.
2. Under the first quantum of the award, the 1st DISCOM or Power Department that achieves 100 per cent household electrification by November 30, 2018, would be provided with the cash award of Rs 50 Lakh.
3. The Principal Secretary (Power) of the State will distribute this cash prize amongst employees of the concerned DISCOM / Power Department.
4. From this amount, Rs. 20 Lakh will be given to the division of DISCOM/Power Department with the highest number of households electrified.

Translate »