US opens new embassy in Jerusalem

The United States of America on May 14, 2018 officially relocated its embassy in Israel from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem, upholding the Jerusalem Embassy Act of 1995. US President Donald Trump did not attend the ceremony in Jerusalem however, he congratulated Israel through a video message broadcast saying that the opening had been “a long time coming.”

Key Highlights:-
1. The US embassy was opened in Jerusalem on May 14, on the day that marked the 70th anniversary of the founding of the state of Israel, in the presence of several politicians and dignitaries including Ivanka Trump and her husband, Jared Kushner.
2. The ceremony was attended by several nations including Albania, Austria, Cameroon, Czech Republic, Ethiopia, Georgia, Hungary, Kenya, Myanmar, Macedonia, Nigeria, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Serbia, Tanzania, Thailand, Ukraine, Vietnam and Zambia.
3. The US and Israeli leaders hailed the embassy move as a sign of the enduring relationship between the two countries and of US trustworthiness.
4. Some of US’s closest allies denounced the US decision to break with international norms by moving its embassy.
5. While France expressed its official disapproval, South Africa pulled its envoy from Tel Aviv and Turkey pulled its ambassadors from both Washington and Tel Aviv.

Translate »