Virat Kohli Wins CEAT International Cricketer of the Year

India captain Virat Kohli emerged as the International Cricketer of the Year at the CEAT Cricket Ratings awards which were presented in Mumbai on 28 May 2018. The 29-year-old though, was not present at the awards ceremony. Rohit Sharma collected the award on behalf of Kohli.

Among other awards, opener Shikhar Dhawan was presented the International Batsman of the Year Award, while New Zealand pace sensation Trent Boult won International Bowler of the Year Award. Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan, who impressed everyone with his skills in the recently concluded Indian Premier League grabbing 21 wickets, was presented with the T20 Bowler of the Year Award.

New Zealand swashbuckling opening batsman Colin Munro won the T20 Batsman of the Year Award. Woman cricketer Harmanpreet Kaur, who single-handedly took the team to the final of the ICC Women’s World Cup with her breathtaking knock of 171 not out against Australia in the semi-final won the Outstanding Innings of the Year Award.

Eighteen-year-old Shubhman Gill, who made his mark in the U-19 World Cup in Australia and the IPL while playing for the Kolkata Knight Riders, was adjudged U-19 Player of the Year. Swashbuckling West Indian batsman Chris Gayle was presented with the Popular Choice Award. Lifetime Achievement Award was bestowed on former India stumper Farokh Engineer.

Translate »